Australasian Animal Studies Association

2023 AASA Popular Communication of Animals Studies Prize

2023 AASA Popular Communication of Animals Studies Prize

Claudia Hirtenfelder, who won the AASA Popular Communication Prize in 2021

Claudia Hirtenfelder, who won the AASA Popular Communication Prize in 2021.

The 2023 Australasian Animal Studies Association Popular Communication of Animal Studies Prize is awarded to a member or members of the Association who have worked systematically to promote the insights and research findings of their peers in the field of Animal Studies, therein increasing public awareness of the field and its value to human-animal relations. The 2023 prize was donated by AASA members, in honour of the late Associate Professor Siobhan O’Sullivan.

Nomination guidelines

  • The applicant(s) must be AASA members at the time of their nomination.
  • The prize is open to individuals or groups. For group nominations, all members must meet the nomination criteria to apply.
  • Nominees should complete the nomination form, and submit a work, or portfolio of works, at the time of nomination. Portfolios should comprise no more than 30 pages of material. No material in the portfolio should be older than five years, and material from the last calendar year must be included in the portfolio to be eligible for the Prize.
  • The submission material should be provided in English.
  • Previous winners of this prize are not eligible to reapply.

Judging process

  • The decision will be made by a judging panel of no less than five people, chaired by the AASA Chairperson (or their nominee). The panel will include at least one early career researcher, and two women or female-identifying scholars.
  • Members of the judging panel will be required to complete a Conflict-of-Interest declaration.
  • The main criterion for the prize is the performance of the nominee in engaging the general community on the topic of animal studies, and foreground and respect the interests, perspectives and rights of nonhuman animals. Consideration will
  • AASA reserves the right not to award this prize.

Award details

The winner will receive AU$500; for group nomination this prize will be shared equally among each nominee.

Due Date

Applications are due by 5pm Australian Easter Standard Time on Friday 20th October 2023. Late applications will not be accepted.


To complete the submission process, please use this online form

Related Posts

AASA 2023 Prize Recipients

AASA 2023 Prize Announcement AASA 2023 Prize Recipients AASA was very excited to announce prize winners at the Animal Cultures Conference Dinner. The 2023 prizes

Read More